Initial install ... "system is adequately configured"

Started by 24jedi, July 26, 2006, 10:30:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

24jedi

Disclaimer...I am new to Mail:Toaster and somewhat of a novice to FreeBSD and *nix alike. My background has been primarily with MS and networking...no *nix servers in a production environment. I am not afraid of breaking anything and willing to spend time learning. My FreeBSD experience has been limited to installing it several times at home and work for applications like mysql, php, and apache primarily as a sandbox for website stagging.

I want to migrate from our existing windows based mailserver to Mail:Toaster. We are a small company with hands-on control of this box. I am not so-much interested in setting up Toaster at this point, as I am sure the doc's will provide the needed information later.

Question... From the install page:

QuoteThe installation process assumes that you already have a server built, the OS installed, and the system is adequately configured to serve out the rest of it's life as an email system.

Has anyone documented the "system is adequately configured" part of how the initial system needs to be installed. Any novice :) can load the OS from a cd. Since I would eventually like to put a system into a production environment, what steps should I take.

1. Am I installing from the commandline with a limtied install? ie..no GUI
2. Are there certain services/applications/caveats I need to be aware of during initial installation?
3. Is the initial installation to include locking down services and setup the firewall, or do the Toaster scripts do this?
4. I am planning on using FreeBSD 5.x, as most of the Toaster installation documentation seems to support this version.

I suppose I could Google for FreeBSD install and lock down how-to's, but as the saying goes... "Your mileage may vary"